Food for thought: Friday roundup

Every single Friday morning since my junior year of college, I’ve woken up with this idiotic tune emblazoned in my thoughts…

…just another reason why I know we’re all doomed.

It was a seriously hectic week, but I did my best to fuel it with healthy choices for natural energy.

In case you missed it, I wrote a bit on why I’m not really exercising right now, and why that’s the right thing for me this season.

Here’s what else happened this week (besides a SERIOUS, serious amount of Latin and Greek…holy planning/grading):

A green smoothie every day.

Mostly simple combos this week: 2 cups kale, 1 cup almond milk, and 1 frozen banana (with vanilla and cinnamon, of course).

Mostly simple combos this week: 2 cups kale, 1 cup almond milk, and 1 frozen banana (with vanilla and cinnamon, of course).

These have been so incredible as a mid-morning “second breakfast.” So glad I stuck with my “Grinchy Green Smoothie challenge…” I’m now packing in 3.5 servings of fruits/veggies before 10 am. Here’s the post where I explain why I decided to keep making one of these babies every day.

Lots of cinnamon raisin Ezekiel bread (on sale at Giant, woop woop) with TJ’s organic salted pb & half a banana for “first breakfast:”

image

 

Yes, I do carry a jar and spoon with me to class.

Yes, I do carry a jar and spoon with me to class.

On to lunch & dinner:

image

 

Dining hall chickpea & falafel burger on a loaded Greek salad with dark greens, hummus, cucumbers, olives, red onion, roasted red pepper, a little feta & balsamic vinegar.

image

The rest of an insomnia cookie in a half-empty Greek yogurt container…

Holy orange!

Holy orange!

Orange (in season right now!) & half of a cranberry pecan granola bar with some TJ’s organic salted pb…

This was disturbingly delicious.

This was disturbingly delicious.

Pizza with slices of fresh mozzarella on a bed of kale, drizzled with olive oil and served with homemade baked sweet potato “fries,” on this Mediterranean flatbread:

image

It has a pretty short ingredient list, so I was happy 🙂

Sorry I didn't clean up...I didn't know you were coming.

Sorry I didn’t clean up…I didn’t know you were coming.

A messy Greek salad on a bed of dark greens with every Greek topping you can think up (the highlight being a feta and Greek olive bruschetta)– think cucumbers, olives, roasted red pepper, hummus, and crostini bread for dipping.

Accidental glob of sour cream, most which ended up on my plate.

Accidental glob of sour cream, most which ended up on my plate.

Veggie taco “hack:” instead of using fake meat for your taco base, just dump the taco seasoning into a bowl of drained and rinsed black beans. Served with guac & Wegman’s brand organic salsa (my fave), along with these cleverly named tortilla chips. They have a super short ingredient list, so you know that makes me happy.

So punny.

So punny.

And the main event:

So dang cute.

So dang cute.

My adaptation of Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies in 4 ingredients, based on Angela’s breakfast cookies at Oh She Glows.

Some other meals included Annie’s white cheddar with 1/4 cup plain 2% Greek yogurt subbed in for butter & milk (gives it a tangy flavor); some organic butternut squash and edamame I snagged in the Target frozen aisle on sale; and a super disappointing sweet potato soup (I could make it better myself…don’t you hate that?).

Not as veggie-packed and a bit more processed than last week, but work was nuts, and I did make sure to include veggies & fruit as much as possible. I’m feeling some gargantuan veggie stir fries for next week. Hope this sparks some ideas for your grocery list.

What are you up to this weekend?? Rich and I are attending his office holiday party, and are stopping by a big pre-party first. Other activities include picking out and decorating his Christmas tree, as well as lots of loafing around 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

