Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie (in 4 ingredients)

Hey hey,

Just popping in to share a super quick and easy “twist” on these breakfast cookies (a.k.a. insomnia cookies) from Oh She Glows.

Whilst loafing around on the couch last night and swinging a cat toy for Minnie’s entertainment (I live to serve), I realized two things.

One, as I was out of dark chocolate. Boo.

Two, I had half a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips that my mom gave me a while back hidden somewhere in my cabinets.

Genius struck, in the form of the simplest oatmeal chocolate chip cookie I have ever seen or made. Isn’t there a saying that innovation is born out of need? Well, I neeeeeded chocolate for today. So there you go.

16 bites of pure joy for you this Christmas season.

16 bites of pure joy for you this Christmas season.

The best part is that these require LITERALLY THREE (necessary) INGREDIENTS: oatmeal, banana, and chocolate chips. If you want to get fancy, throw some cinnamon in there (the 4th). Win. Other than the chocolate chips, the only sweetness in these cookies comes from bananas. Double win. Even better, they’re only about 60 calories a pop, so eating 5 at a time is not just encouraged; it’s a requirement.

The "dough" is a little loose, so make sure to pack it a little aggressively into the ice cream scoop.

The “dough” is a little loose, so make sure to pack it a little aggressively into the ice cream scoop.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Oh She Glows, link above)

You’ll need:

-An ice cream scoop (preferably one with a release lever)*;

-2 cups raw oats, processed in the food processor until they form a course meal;

-2 mashed bananas;

-1/2 cup choc chips (use anything you have around…dark choc chunks, mini chips, or m&ms, which, now that I think of it, I’m making for Christmas);

-1 tsp. cinnamon & sprinkling sea salt, if it suits you. The cinnamon gives these a holiday flavor.

*You don’t absolutely need an ice cream scoop. If you don’t have one, make a ball on a spoon and pack with your fingers.

Preheat the oven to 350. Mash the banana and add processed oats, choc chips, and cinnamon and salt, if you’re using them. Use the ice cream scoop to form balls of “dough.” Throw (ok, actually be gentle) on a pan lined with parchment paper or foil. I didn’t grease my foil, and the cookies came up just fine.

Bake at 350 for 11-13 minutes, watching for the edges to brown slightly. Cool on cooling rack for 10 minutes, or eat all right off of the pan. Lord knows I stood at the counter inhaling them straight out of the oven.

I made 16 cookies using this recipe, but your yield will vary on the size of your cookies.

The only cookie I actually sat down to eat.

The only cookie I actually sat down to eat.

And voila. So easy, I made them during my lunch hour today. So light up your office kitchen and get crackin’, because it’s a long afternoon ahead.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie (in 4 ingredients)

  1. Pingback: Food for Thought: Christmas food prep | battleofmarathonblog

  2. Pingback: A Vegetarian at the Table | battleofmarathonblog

  3. Pingback: Back Pocket Recipes: Friday Roundup | battleofmarathonblog

  4. Pingback: Things Fall Apart (and learning to run: Week 3) | battleofmarathonblog

  5. Pingback: Hummus and pickles? | battleofmarathonblog

Leave a Reply

