A little “taste” of why I’m here

Rain, rain, go away. While it was kinda cozy yesterday, today the cold rain is putting me to sleep. Thank goodness Wednesdays are half days around these parts, or else we’d all be pulling out nap mats in Honors Greek. Socrates might actually approve of that…he was a pretty strange dude, after all.

My green smoothie came with me to my classroom today as breakfast part II:

image

 

Simple today: just a cup of unsweet vanilla almond milk, a frozen banana, and 2 cups of kale. A little vanilla extract in there for good measure, of course.

Breakfast part I was the butt of a loaf of Italian bread, toasted and smothered in TJ’s organic salted pb. A little dark chocolate and pb action occurred– as per usual– before seated lunch at 12:15.

Some eats snagged from the dining hall...a little crunch for the afternoon.

Some eats snagged from the dining hall…a little crunch for the afternoon and some smoothie-bound bananas.

If you missed my post yesterday on Sun Dried Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper dip, go check it out, then come back to me. I have a delicious use for the stuff for you after I ramble a bit.

If you’ve followed my blog even loosely, you know I teach Latin and Greek at a boarding school. Natural question: why is this chick blogging about food and fitness?

Although I take great pride in teaching, I am also a HUGE foodie, out of both love and necessity. After a brain-bashing day of Latin & Greek, I love nothing more than a sweaty run, followed by an evening of posting up in the kitchen with a cup of tea perusing recipes and engaging in discussions on the art of living a healthy, balanced life. I like that I’m not an RD (although I’ve recently looked into some programs), but due to personal health needs (I’ll get into that eventually), I have to really pay attention to what goes into my body. For years, I struggled with horrible stomachaches, and my intestines “reacted” to everything from red meat and baked chicken, to eggs, milk, ice cream, pizza, pasta sauce…I was all over the map. I would eat bland foods for at least 3 or 4 days before any car trip, so that I wouldn’t have to pull over for an emergency pit stop (pardon me if I spare you the more infamous stories). Even as a kid, I would wake up in the middle of the night with stomach pains. What 10 year old wants to worry about finding an empty bathroom at school? It was rough, but not exactly life-threatening, so for 20 years I just bumbled along in life and crossed my fingers that dinner wouldn’t come back to haunt me in 1, 5, or 10 hours.

When I went vegetarian and started focusing my diet on real, wholesome foods, it rocked my world. I intend for this blog to reach all those who strive–key word– to lead a balanced life, but especially to those whose relationship with food rules some aspect of their lives. I don’t plan my meals three days in advance of a road trip anymore, and I’m here to talk about how I got there.

But that’s a story for another day. The point is, afternoons like yesterday, which I spent getting cozy with a spaghetti squash for the first time, make me infinitely happy. And what better on a gloomy, cold, rainy day (like today…again…) than a big plate of “pasta?”

Instead of dumping some bleached yada yada niacin B.S. pasta (WHICH I DO ALL THE TIME, by the way, so zero judgment) onto my plate, a bit of the earth made its way beneath my pasta sauce.

With a little elbow grease, I cracked this sucker open, cleaned out the guts, rubbed it down with about a tablespoon of olive oil, and sprinkled on some sea salt and ground pepper.

I cleaned the seeds and covered in about a half tablespoon of olive oil, as well as some sea salt and pepper. 10 minutes at 250, remove and shake on the lined pan, and give them another 3 or so minutes to cook through.

Double trouble.

On the left, you can see that I cleaned the seeds, patted dry with a paper towel, and coated with about a 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil. I sprinkled on a little sea salt and pepper, roasted at 250 for 10 minutes, shook the pan, then left them in there for another 3 or so minutes. I gave them to my momma 🙂

While those were cooling, the squash hung out in the oven for 40 minutes at 400, and this is what I got!

When I showed this to my dad, was like...nice pasta? Totally fooled.

When I showed this to my dad, he was like…okay, nice pasta? Come on, dad, It’s like neon yellow.

After the squash cooled for 10 or so minutes, I took a fork and scraped out the insides of each half. Voila! Instant pasta, sans inflammatory gluten, which meant a bloat-free evening for me.

Now for the kicker…

Cue: Sundried Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper sauce (link above):

image

I really wish there were pictures of me eating this…I spoke solely in *this is agonizingly good* facial expressions.

 

I layered the spaghetti squash over fresh baby spinach, sprinkled on a touch more sea salt and pepper, and served with Wegman’s organic “Grandpop’s Sauce Goes Vegetarian” pasta sauce, with a healthy heaping of sundried tomato dip on top. A slice of bread on the side with some more dip spread on there (not pictured)…

Veggie, foodie, rainy day heaven.

Greek calls to me. Hope you’re having a wonderful Wednesday!

Standard

Leave a Reply

