Grinchy Green Smoothie Challenge

You’re a green one…

image

This is actually my Senior Portrait.

Mr. Grinch.

Dr. Suess’ animated version of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” is definitely my favorite Christmas cartoon. I love me some claymation, but there’s nothing like watching a green grinch grump his way around town. I’m known for “grumbling” in my family, so I probably just relate to the guy. All he wanted was some peace and quiet…I feel ya, Grinch.

In honor of my now in-season green friend (I refuse to recognize Christmas before Thanksgiving), I thought I’d dedicate this next week to the illustrious green smoothie: a surprisingly delicious combo of greens, banana, and your choice of add-ins– nut butter, more fruit, chia seeds, etc. These babies are nutritional powerhouses, packing in the healthy fats and proteins to keep you full, as well as immune-system-boosting vitamins, antioxidants, and phytonutrients to keep you healthy this flu season. Yes, please, to all of the above.

My views on and participation in holiday indulgence are pretty simple:

1. It’s OKAY to treat yourself, but live by the rule of moderation. Keep a regular exercise routine, and enjoy your favorite holiday treats. There’s no point in spiraling down to the seventh level of guilt over a piece of pie. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

2. With that said, it’s not “open season–” that’s how you can really get yourself into trouble. Just because there’s a plate of momma’s cookies on the dining room table, doesn’t mean you should eat 5 in a sitting. I’ve found that the more consciously and intentionally I enjoy holiday treats–or any treats, for that matter– the more I truly enjoy them. Have a glass of real egg nog, but don’t have it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Have a freakin’ cookie (or two!), but balance that out with your usual, stabilizing breakfast.

That’s what this Grinchy Green Smoothie (pardon the incredibly lame name, but I couldn’t help myself) challenge is all about. This week, as we settle into the lull between Thanksgiving and Christmas, I want to fuel my days with a shot of goodness first thing in the a.m. What could be better than starting your day with 2+ cups of spinach or kale?!

Did you know there’s a whole website dedicated to green smoothies?  Check it out for all sorts of ideas on how to put together your own greenie.

Here’s what I’m throwing into mine:

-2 cups baby kale, de-stemmed;

-1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk;

-1 frozen banana;*

-1 tablespoon smooth peanut butter;

-1 tablespoon chia seeds;

-1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract;

-dash cinnamon.

*pro tip: pre-slice a few bananas and store in freezer in separate tupperware containers. The frozen bananas negate the need for ice, but you can add 3 or 4 cubes if you’re so inclined.

Blender, population: kale.

Blender, population: kale.

These can be vegan, include ground flax, or even have a “tropical” kick.

Feel free to share this post if you’re joining in the challenge, even if it’s just for one day. Post any delicious versions of your own in the comments section!

In the words of one of my students: “I dig kale.”

Word.

Standard

Leave a Reply

