Small steps (and a quick circuit workout)

Bonjour!

Hope you all had a fantastic Thanksgiving holiday, and that you still have all of your limbs if you braved the streets on Black Friday. I’ll be taking advantage of some online deals for presents, but I wasn’t enough of a shop-a-holic on Thursday or Friday to roll off the couch and shake off my food coma to go to Target.

image

^seriously, what was with so many stores opening at 6 pm on Thanksgiving? I was too busy watching the Eagles CRUSH the Cowboys to even consider shopping :).

If you read my posts on Saturday’s disaster of an 8k (Part I and Part II), you’ll know that I vowed to take all of last week off from exercise. Other than a long walk in Boston to see my sister at Boston University, I stuck to my promise, and let my patellar tendon truly rest. Last year, I went for an absolutely glorious 4-mile run early on Thanksgiving morning, and although I was itching to re-create that experience, I knew that in the long run (jokes), I would benefit more from putting my feet up with a warm cup of coffee. With about 6 inches of snow on the ground in New England from the messy storm on Wednesday, it was quite the cozy holiday. I didn’t take many pictures over my trip, but I did snag one of my new friend…

This perfect picture is brought to you by peanut butter on the plate just to the right.

This perfect picture is brought to you by peanut butter on the plate just to the right.

I’m really not good at “relaxing,” but I think the lack of activity really helped with the injury. Last Sunday, the pain in my knee woke me at 6:50 am, to the point where I couldn’t fall back asleep; today, no pain, and I took some small steps towards being active: a leisurely 1.5 mi stroll in the neighborhood in which I grew up.

I know I’m not going to be able to keep my running base this winter, but I’m going to do my best to follow a very simple adage:

Any movement is better than no movement.

With that said, if you’re looking for a quick way to move that post-Thanksgiving bod’ and don’t feel like leaving your living room, give this little circuit a go:

image

Just click on the image to expand!

Right now, I’d have to skip the jumping jacks (because of the impact on my knee), but otherwise, this is a really basic, low-impact circuit which quickly hits cardio, arms/shoulders, core, abs, hips and legs. Simple, but better than nothing if you don’t have access to a gym!

On to some application business. Isn’t editing your CV/resume the worst? Ugh. So tedious.

Stay tuned this week for a very green challenge in honor of the Christmas season. . .

Standard

Leave a Reply

