Ramblin’ (wo)man

Good morning!

Today, I’m off to the friggin frigid lovely state of Massachusetts* to spend the Thanksgiving holiday with Rich and his family. I haven’t seen them for a while, so I’m excited to head up to my old stomping grounds, hang around the table, drink lots of good beer, and chow on some delicious food. The forces that be are also predicting a legit snowstorm tomorrow morning and afternoon. First venture of the season into hot chocolate, I think soooo!

*To be fair, I spent my college years in Massachusetts, and learned to love it. As a native Pennsylvanian, I had just never felt negative wind chill before…nor do I wish to repeat the experience on a regular basis.

First, let me share with you the incredible breakfast that happened yesterday:

Doesn't LOOK particularly appetizing, which is truly unfortunate.

Doesn’t LOOK particularly appetizing, which is truly unfortunate. Call it the Hunchback of “N-oat-re” Dame. Ha.

I went to bed salivating over this one.

It all started with an empty jar of peanut butter.  While I was mourning, lightning struck.

I really only happened upon the blog scene about a year ago, but I’ve consistently noticed that everybody’s doing “overnight oats.” If you’re unsure as to what these are: cold oatmeal, left to its own devices with milk and yogurt, and which REQUIRES prep the night before. This is great for me, since when I wake up, I am, quite literally, a bumbling, fumbling, hangry– emphasis on the hangry– idiot. So I crossed my fingers that these mysterious, self-sufficient oats would hit the spot.

They diiiiid. Ugh, so good. Like, woke up early on a vacation day to eat it good.

Here’s how I prepped them:

I started with a brilliant idea from Kath Eats Real Food (cue peanut butter): use an empty nut butter jar to house the overnight oats. I didn’t follow her recipe exactly, but I must give Kath major props for this awesome idea.

In a small bowl, I combined:

-1/3 cup raw oats;

-1/3 cup 2% milk;

-1/3 cup 2% plain Greek yogurt;

-1/4 teaspoon of vanilla (plus a little dash extra 🙂 );

-dash cinnamon.

I covered the oats (you don’t have to; your choice) and left them in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I added:

-1 banana, sliced into small pieces;

-a couple spoonfuls of Trader Joe’s pumpkin granola. Adding a bit of crunch really ups the ante here.

And threw it all into a nearly-empty TJ’s organic smooth (salted!) pb. So good. Most recipes that I saw included at least half of a banana in the oat mixture overnight; I don’t know why, but cold bananas freak me out, so I left them out and added them in the a.m.

Really workin' the side of that jar. Can you tell I like peanut butter...?

Really workin’ the side of that jar. I don’t like peanut butter or anything. Has every post mentioned it???

For all of you who are traveling in the next few days, be safe and have fun. I’ll leave you with some healthy snack ideas for the road:

If I had to categorize myself as a type of “eater,” I’d pick “grazer.” That means I have to put some thought into making sure I have lots of snacks available in the car and when we’re out and about. I really try to focus on eating real food when traveling, because I have a pretty sensitive stomach. The cleaner I eat while on the road, the less I bloat (real talk). No rest stop pizza for me. This year, I’m taking…

Dried cranberries;

Organic raisins;

Walnuts;

Sprinkled with a dash of cinnamon. Mmmmm.

Sprinkled with a dash of cinnamon. Mmmmm.

Dark chocolate…

Lots of Cranberry Pecan granola bars

Carrots, apples, and pb…

And lunch! A hummus and cracked pepper sandwich for the win. My Camelback and I go everywhere together, and this trip is no exception.

Happy Travels 🙂 going anywhere exciting?

Standard

Leave a Reply

