Cranberry Pecan Granola Bars

Hey all…hope hump day is treating you well. 1 week until Thanksgiving Eve, and 1 week + 1 hungover morning until Thanksgiving itself. Hair of the dog, anyone?

For the past month and a half or so, I’ve been making my own granola bars instead of buying them. I’m going through a phase where I only want to fuel my long days of teaching (at boarding school, so we’re talking 7, 8, 11 pm, if I’m on duty) with real food…food with ingredients I recognize, or better yet, that I could pull out of the earth myself.

Why even bake this when the ingredients are so good on their own?!?

Why even bake this when the ingredients are so good on their own?!?

If you happen to read Angela’s blog “Oh She Glows,” you’ll recognize the base of these bars, because my recipe is a tweak of hers. I’ve been testing lots of versions of this bar, but find that this is my fave. Although, a month ago, my pumpkin spice version took the same crown…

You can find the original recipe here: http://www.ohsheglows.com/2014/05/20/feel-good-hearty-granola-bars/

And here’s the hybrid I crafted:

-3 ripe bananas (mashed);

-1 tsp. pure vanilla extract;

-2 cups oats (blended until coarse in food processor);

-1 cup chopped pecans;

-1/2 cup shelled pepita seeds (I used roasted, unsalted);

-3/4 cup dried cranberries (reduce to 1/2 cup if you’re worried about sugar content, although there is no added sugar in this recipe!);

-1 tsp. cinnamon;

-dash (about 1/4 tsp) Himalayan sea salt.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a large rectangular baking dish (I use a 13 x 9 and leave about an inch free on one side) with parchment paper, or lightly grease. Mash the bananas and blend with vanilla; add oats, pecans, pumpkin seeds, cranberries, cinnamon, and salt. Bake for 25-27 minutes for granola bar perfection!

I wrap them in plastic wrap and freeze them for longevity. I just pop a few out at a time so that they stay fresh. Makes 12 larger bars, but I usually cut them into 14 smaller bars and smother each with organic crunchy peanut butter 🙂

image

Ugh…get in my belly. Not the best pic, but look at those giant cranberries!

 

Standard

One thought on “Cranberry Pecan Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Learning to Run (Week 2): Fueling your workout | battleofmarathonblog

Leave a Reply

